Wade on Birmingham

Vote 2017: Birmingham election free-for-all


On Tuesday, Birmingham voters return to the polls for a second time in a week. Up for grabs are the mayor, the city council and board of education.

Vote 2013Elsewhere, Mobile will vote in its municipal elections, and Lincoln will decide on Sunday alcohol sales.

The candidates:


  • Patricia Bell
  • William Bell (I)
  • Randy Davis
  • Ervin Philemon Hill II
  • Trudy Hunter
  • Carl “Jr.” Jackson
  • Lanny E. Jackson
  • Donald T. Lomax
  • Frank Matthews
  • Fernandez “Brother Sims” Sims
  • Randall Woodfin
  • Chris Woods

For city council (by district):

  • 1: Sherman Collins Jr., Lashunda Scales (I).
  • 2: Lawrence Conaway, Kimberly Jeanty, Stephen Murphy, Kim Rafferty (I), Deanna Reed, Jordan Thompson, Hunter Williams, Tyrone Williams
  • 3: Valerie Abbott (I), Rowan Henderson, Ryan Jones.
  • 4: Mary Jean LaMay, William Parker (I), Qunelius Pettway, Sergio Williams.
  • 5: Johnathan Austin (I), Dorothea Crosby, Chris Davis, Darrell O’Quinn, Erica Robbins, Jeremy Schatz, Robert Walker.
  • 6: Keith Mims, Sheila Tyson (I), Keith Williams.
  • 7: Titus Battle, Hosea Lewis, Lonnie Malone, Jay Roberson Jr. (I), Jeffery Rowser.
  • 8: Steven Hoyt (I), Lynette Peters, Gerri Robinson, Adlai Trone.
  • 9: Angene Coleman, Eric Hall, John Hilliard, Wendell Major, Roderick Royal, David Russell, Reginald Swanson, James Williams Jr.

For board of education (by district):

  • 1: Bennie M. Holmes, Douglas Lee Ragland, Keith Rice, Cedric Small, Jerry Tate.
  • 2: Brandon McCray, Terri Michal.
  • 3: Mary Drennen Boehm, Larry J. Contri.
  • 4: Amber Courtney, Daagye Hendricks (I), Edward Maddox.
  • 5: Buford L. Burks, Eloise Manning Crenshaw, Martha McDowell, David T. McKinney, Michael “Mickey” Millsap, Andrea D. Mitchell, Aaisha Muhammad, Angela Scoggins-Watson.
  • 6: Cheri Gardner (I), Ervin Philemon Hill.
  • 7: Wardine Alexander (I), Patricia Spigner McAdory, Walter “Big Walt” Wilson.
  • 8: Patricia Bozeman-Henderson, D. Tyrone Silmon, Sonja Q. Smith, Antwon Womack.
  • 9: Sandra Brown (I), Lawrence Jackson.

I = incumbent

The Birmingham municipal election takes place Tuesday. Runoffs take place Oct. 3.

Sample ballot for 2017 Birmingham municipal election
(download PDF ballot)


• • •

More Vote 2017 coverage.

Leave a Yip

Subscribe without commenting