Wade on Birmingham

Vote 2013: The combo platter


Birmingham mayoral candidates 2013

Birmingham mayoral candidates, from left:
Kamau Afrika, Pat Bell, William Bell,
Stephannie Huey and Adlai Trone.

Every 4 years, Birmingham has elections for city council. And for mayor, but not on the same cycle. And neither election coincided with state or national elections.

Vote 2013Because.

Tuesday marks a historic change, as both city council and mayoral races will be on the same ballot, along with the board of education races. In 2011, the elections aligned for the first time, though the mayoral term was for an abbreviated 2 years.

Baby steps.

Mayor: Incumbent William Bell, who won a special election in 2009 and then won re-election in 2011, runs for a full 4-year mayoral term against challengers Kamau Afrika, Pat Bell, Stephannie Huey and Adlai Trone.

For city council (by district):

  • 1: Pat Davis, Keith Rice, Lashunda Scales (I).
  • 2: Rolanda Hollis, Kim Rafferty (I), Richard Rutledge, Neil Shah, Bart Slawson, Everett Wess.
  • 4: Maxine Herring Parker (I), Edward Maddox.
  • 5: Johnathan Austin (I), Robert Walker.
  • 6: Keith Aaron, John “JC” Harris, Willis H. “Buddy” “Mickey Mouse” Hendrix, Latonya Millhouse, Michael R. Morrison, James Stewart, Sheila Tyson.
  • 7: Gary Bruce Lavender, Jay Roberson Jr. (I).
  • 8: Steven Hoyt (I), Gerri Robinson.
  • 9: Leroy Bandy, Angene Coleman, Eric Hall, Marcus Lundy, David Russell, Ellen H. Spencer.

I = incumbent

For board of education (by district):
  • 1: Tyrone Belcher (I), Sherman Collins Jr., Douglas Ragland, Jerry Tate.
  • 2: Virginia Volker (I), Lyord Watson.
  • 4: Daagye Hendricks, Rodney Huntley, Gwen Sykes.
  • 5: Martha Casey McDowell, Randall Woodfin.
  • 6: Lavon Beard, Gwendolyn Thomas Bell, Charie Gardner, Ervin Philemon Hill, Joy Smith.
  • 7: Wardine Alexander (I), Lawrence Jackson, Darius Moore.
  • 8: Patricia Bozeman-Henderson, April Williams (I), Antwon Womack.
  • 9: Sandra Brown, Emanuel Ford (I).

I = incumbent

Candidates in district 3 races are running unopposed.

In 2011, the districts were redrawn to reflect changes in population. This election represents the first year using the new boundaries.

New districts: Click on the map to determine district number.

The Birmingham municipal election takes place Tuesday. Runoffs take place Oct. 8.

Sample ballot for 2013 Birmingham municipal election
(click icons to print or download)


Leave a Yip

Subscribe without commenting